h1

A classic story on stage – Dirty Dancing!

September 30, 2012

As I promised, here is the review of Dirty Dancing on stage @ China Teatern, Stockholm.

I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve seen the movie Dirty Dancing in my lifetime, and everytime I see it, it’s like the first time, who doesn’t want to be Baby? I, like many of us, know all the songs, the lines, the dances from this classic story, so you can imagine my expectations were roof-top-high when I went to see the Swedish version of Dirty Dancing on stage. But let me tell you they didn’t disappoint me, not even for a second!!!!

I sat there like a little girl again and gasped the whole way through… The actors/dancers were amazing, honestly I’ve been to many musicals here in Sweden, but I’ve never seen this kind of a talent, wow wow wow!!! The scenography was like a dream, so clever and so well planned. The singers sang so flawless and they gave every song justice…

After 3 hours I didn’t want it to end, I felt like I was “there”, I was in Catskill Mountains!!!!

They played the characters so well, it felt like the late Patrick Swayze was on stage, Pascal Jansson, who played Johnny, had really captured Swayze’s movement. Every actor on stage had really study the characters, they played them so good. And I give it extra points, because it was not the typical musical where the actors sing on stage, it was nice that they didn’t it, so I give that extra points!!

So if you ever get the chance to see this classic story on stage, DO IT!!!!

All the pictures are from the Facebook-site: Dirty Dancing – the classic story on stage Stockholm

Leave a Reply

